Within Thryv, each client can carry a running balance of their charges accumulated so far. These charges can sit on a client's account as Not Yet Due, Due, or Overdue. This guide will explain how these balances accumulate and how balances can be closed.
- How charges are added to a client's account
- How to view a client's account balance
- How to manually close a client's balance
How Charges Are Added To A Client's Account
There are several ways a charge can be added to a client's account.
The first method is by sending the client an Invoice. When an invoice is sent to a client, those charges are added to a client's account as Due, until the due date on the invoice, at which point they become Overdue. Click Here for a full guide to creating invoices. If a client has multiple invoices due or overdue, the running total will be the client's account balance.
Another way an account can accumulate a balance is scheduled appointments or group events with a fee attached. When a service is scheduled with a fee attached, that charge will be added to a client's account according to the settings of that event. Click Here for a full guide to scheduling appointments, and Click Here for a guide to creating a Group Event.
- If the payment on the events is set to Paid - Suggest to Pay at Booking, the charges will be added as Not Yet Due immediately. They will become Due on the day of the service, and Overdue the day after.
- If the payment on the event is set to Paid - Require to Pay at Booking, the charges will be due that day and overdue the next day (Note: If the services is booked online, because it requires payment to book the appointment this will not happen. Therefore, the only way this would occur is if a Thryv user manually books the appointment but does not take a payment at the same time).
- If the payment on the event is set to Paid - No Online Payment At Booking, the charge will be added as Not Yet Due immediately. They will become Due on the day of the service, and Overdue the day after.
The last way a charge can be added to a client's balance is if a Thryv user manually adds a Package or Product to a client's account in the Client Card without taking a payment at the same time.
How To View A Client's Account Balance
To view a client's balance, navigate to their Client Card. If the client has an open balance, a banner will appear in the top left corner. This banner can be removed by clicking the X icon. Even if the banner is removed, their Due & Overdue payments will also show under Activity Highlights on the left side.
Keep in mind, if you are using sub-accounts in your CRM, each sub-account will have its own balance that is kept separately.
How To Manually Close A Client's Balance
To close a client's account balance, there are a few options.
You can send a new Invoice to the client, and automatically include all of their current Due and Overdue charges.
If you navigate on the client card to Payments>Take Payment Thryv will generate your choice of a Payment Link, Invoice, or give you the option to Record A Payment, for all of the charges currently on that client's account.
You also are able to take a payment right from this screen for all items. Click on Take Payment on the same line as the balance. Click on either Charge Credit/Debit Card or Record Payment (Cash/Check/Other) as appropriate. This will create a payment for all items that are due.
The client will receive one receipt for all items on the payment.
If multiple sub-accounts have a balance, can I automatically send one payment link or invoice to close them?
No, each sub-account is considered a separate balance and would need to be invoiced and closed separately.
How are clients notified about their balance?
Clients will receive reminders about each charge individually according to the reminder schedule set in Settings>Auto Client Messages>Bookings or Payments as appropriate. You would need to use the options shown above manually to remind a client about their entire balance at once.
My customer has a service scheduled, but it is not reflecting in their balance. Why is that?
If the payment setting on your service is not set to Paid - Required to Pay At Booking, the charge for that service will be listed as Not Yet Due, and will not become Due until the day of the appointment. This means it will not be included in the balance. You do still have the option of navigating to that appointment on your calendar and clicking on Create Invoice if you want Thryv to consider the payment due.
Are you looking to take a payment from your client without a prior balance? Click Here for our guide to taking payments!