If a client contacts you and asks for their information to be deleted from your system, Thryv is able to do so. This guide will show you how to completely erase a client's data.
Permanently deleting a client's data is a two-step process. First, the Conversation in the inbox must be deleted. This will delete any interactions between the client and your business. After this, the client's Contact information must be deleted. This prevents them from being contacted again unless you add them once again as a customer.
Deleting The Client's Interactions
To do this, navigate to the Inbox and locate the conversation with the client you are trying to delete. Click on the Checkbox for that conversation to highlight it, and then click on Delete.
Completing this step will delete all of the client's previous interactions with you. This would include:
- Group events attended
This is the only way to permanently delete those instances all at once. Deleting them as a client (shown in the next step) will not delete the history between you and the client.
Deleting The Client's Contact Information
Now that all of the client's individual items are deleted from Thryv, you are ready to delete their contact. To do so, navigate to Clients, and search for the client you are trying to delete. Click on the Checkbox for that client, and then click on Delete.
Once both of these steps have been completed, your customer's information will be completely deleted from Thryv. You will not be able to send them messages, marketing announcements, appointments, invoices or other communications unless you add them again as a customer.
Once I've permanently deleted a client from Thryv, is there a way to undo this process?
No. Once these steps are complete, the client's data is completely deleted. There is not a way for Thryv to retrieve it.
Are both of these steps necessary to fully delete a client from Thryv?
Yes. Only deleting the conversation will still leave the client's contact information in Thryv. Only deleting the contact will leave all of that client's history (appointments, invoices, etc.) with you. To fully delete a client, both steps must be taken.
Can I complete one of these steps without the other?
You can, just keep in mind that if a customer requests for their information to be fully deleted from your CRM, you may be required to do so.