Knowledge Center

or visit the Community

    Editing and Processing Estimates

    Follow

    This section focuses on how to manage, edit, and process estimates once you have created them.

    First navigate to the Estimates Dashboard by going to Sales>Estimates.

    The possible Statuses of an estimate are:

    From there you can select the estimate that you want to edit by simply clicking on the invoice within the list. 

    In the sections below we will cover available functions by each Estimate Status.

    Edit_Estimate_1.png

    Draft Estimate

    A Draft estimate has not been shared with a client and is fully editable.

    Edit_Estimate_2.png

    Functions available for a Draft Estimate:

    • Send to Client
      • When you click on Send to Client you will get the following pop-up confirming that you want to send your estimate.
      • Changes Estimate status to Sent.

                Confirm.png

      • Once you click OK the estimate is immediately emailed to the client.
      • Client view of the email:
      • Email_View.png
      • From there the client can VIEW ESTIMATE or Send Message.
        • VIEW ESTIMATE - This takes the client into the Client Portal to the Your Activity view of the estimate.
        • View_Estimate_2.png
        • For more on the Client Portal experience go to What Can My Clients Do In The Portal?
        • Send Message - takes the client into the Client Portal to the Your Activity Conversation screen where they can Write a Message to the business. 
    • Mark as Sent
    • View Estimate
      • Allows you to preview what the client will receive.

    View_Estimate.png

    • Copy Estimate 
      • Allows you to copy an estimate, assign to a any client and edit after creating a new estimate.
    • Edit
      • Allows you to fully edit your estimate including adding/removing items.
    • Archive
      • This puts estimate in historical status and no longer visible in the Estimate Dashboard.

    Sent Estimate

    A Sent estimate has been shared with the client.

     

    Sent_Estimate.png

     

    Functions available for a Sent Estimate:

    • Approve
      • An approved estimate is assumed to have been approved by the client, therefore once approved an estimate cannot be edited.
      • Changes Estimate status to Approved
    • Issue Invoice
      • Creates an Invoice from the Estimate
      • Changes Estimate status to Invoiced
      • Immediately the Invoice will pop-up in case you want to Edit or Process.
      • For information visit the Invoice and Bookings articles
      • Invoice_pop-up.png 
    • Send Reminder
      • Sends a reminder to the client.
      • Reminder.png 
      • When a client interacts with the email it will route them to the Client Portal.
      • For more on the Client Portal experience go to What Can My Clients Do In The Portal?
    • View Estimate
      • Allows you to preview what the client received.
    • Edit
      • Allows you to fully edit your estimate including adding/removing items.
    • Reject
      • This puts estimate in rejected status and cannot be modified or sent.
    • Copy Estimate 
      • Allows you to copy an estimate, assign to a any client and edit after creating new estimate.
    • Send to Client
      • When you click on Send to Client you will get the following pop-up confirming that you want to send your estimate.

    Approved Estimate

    An Approved estimate has received approval from the client via the portal or marked approved by the business.

     

    Approved_Estimate.png

     

    Functions available for an Approved Estimate:

    • Issue Invoice
      • Creates an Invoice from the Estimate
      • Changes Estimate status to Invoiced
      • Immediately the Invoice will pop-up in case you want to Edit or Process
      • For information visit the Invoice and Bookings articles  
    • View Estimate
      • Allows you to preview what the client received.
      • View_Approved_.png
    • Copy Estimate 
      • Allows you to copy an estimate, assign to a any client and edit after creating new estimate.
    • Reject
      • This puts estimate in rejected status and cannot be modified or sent.
    • Send to Client
      • When you click on Send to Client you will get the following pop-up confirming that you want to send your estimate.

    Rejected Estimate

    A Rejected estimate has been de-activated. It cannot be updated or reactivated.

     

    Approved_Estimate.png

     

    Functions available for an Approved Estimate:

    • View Estimate
      • Allows you to preview what the client received.
      • View_Rejected.png
    • Archive
      • This puts an estimate in historical status and no longer visible in the Estimate Dashboard.
    • Copy Estimate 
      • Allows you to copy an estimate, assign to a any client and edit after creating a new estimate.

     

    Invoiced Estimate

    An Invoiced estimate has received officially approved and an invoice has been created.

    Invoiced_Estimate.png

     

    Functions available for an Invoiced Estimate:

    • View Invoice
      • This takes you to the Invoice menu with a preview of the Invoice which is in Draft mode.
      • For information visit the Invoice and Bookings articles.
    • View Estimate
      • Allows you to preview what the client received.
      • An Invoiced Estimate remains as Approved in the client view.
      • View_Approved_.png
    • Copy Estimate 
      • Allows you to copy an estimate, assign to a any client and edit after creating new estimate.

     

    Archived Estimate

    An Archived estimate has been moved to archive/historical status.  Only Draft Estimates can be Archived. 

     

    archived_estimate.png

     

    Functions available for an Archived Estimate:

    • View Estimate
      • Allows you to preview what the client received.
      • Archived estimates remain in Draft mode when viewed.
      • View_Estimate.png
    • Reopen
      • Reopening an Archived estimate reinstates it in Draft Mode.
    Was this article helpful?
    0 out of 0 found this helpful

    Comments